Helpline Number

  • 100,03325240012
  • 6292212378

Message from the Superintendent of Police

width: 337px;On behalf of Barasat Police District, West Bengal Police I, Shri Bhaskar Mukherjee, IPS welcome you to our Official Website.Ensuring Safety of the district and its Citizens is the prime concern for all of us working in Barasat Police District. Read More

Welcome to Barasat Police District

Barasat Police District was created by bifurcation of North 24-Parganas District Police On 05th March, 2018. North 24-Parganasderives its name from the number of Parganas or revenue district ceded to the British East India Company in 1757 by the Nawab of Bengal. North 24-Parganas had emerged as a separated district on the 1st. day of March 1986, bifurcating the erstwhile 24-Parganas District. It lies between 22° 11'6" and 23°1'2" North latitude and between 88°22' & 89°5' East of Longitudes. This bounded by Nadia District and Bangladesh in the North; South 24-Parganas in the South; Howrah and Hooghly in the West; and Bangladesh in the East. North 24 Parganas is West Bengal's most populous district and (following the splitting of the Thane district of Maharashtra in 2014) the most populated district in the whole of India. The Police District covers area of 897.93 SQ. KM. The census of 2001 records a total Population of 21,63,063(approx.) persons of which 51.92 percent are males and 48.08 percent are females. Of the total population, the percentage of schedule caste, schedule tribe, literates, workers and urbanites are 20.59; 2.22; 78.1; 33.4 and 54.30 respectively. The Police district incorporates 1 Civil sub-divisions, 5 number of municipality 6 community development blocks and 11 police stations. The panchayet set up comprises of 51 Gram Panchayets. Barasat town is the district headquarters.

BARASAT SUBDIVISION consists of five municipalities (Barasat, Madhyamgram, Ashoknagar Kalyangarh, Habra & Gobardanga)
BARASAT SUBDIVISION consists of five community development blocks: 6 (Barasat-I, Barasat-II, Amdanga, Habra-I, Habra-II & Deganga)

Jai Hind

Important Links